Thursday, April 26, 2012

The Seven Holy Spirits

Years back I was intrigued by a type of 7 Sisters oil named "7 Holy Spirits".  I couldn't find any information concerning this recipe online and quite frankly was not sure just what condition these types of spiritual products would be used for, save for blessing work. So I did some researching.

The Seven Holy Spirits are found in the bible in Isaiah 11:2.

Isaiah 11:2
And the spirit of the LORD shall rest upon him, the spirit of wisdom and understanding, the spirit of counsel and might, the spirit of knowledge and of the fear of the LORD;

So the Seven Holy Spirits are:

1.) The Spirit of the Lord
2.) The Spirit of Wisdom
3.) The Spirit of Understanding
4.) The Spirit of Counsel
5.) The Spirit of Might
6.) The Spirit of Knowledge
7.) The Spirit of Fear of the Lord

As far as recipes goes, I use a total of 7 holy herbs found in the bible. If anyone wants to make their own version they can go that route or else choose an herb that best suits each spirit.


  1. It is possible that "the Spirit of the LORD" is the same named after with their qualities, I say, it is a single spirit. The passage in Christianity would be interpreted as the gifts of the Holy Spirit,is very similar. I think this is one spirit, not seven. Among the Hebrews when speaking of the spirit of the Lord always referring to the Shekinah which is the same as in Christianity, the divine presence. It's just my guess.

  2. @ Geomante,

    People who believe in the 7 HOly Spirits also point to verses in Revelation where it talks about 7 lamps in front of the throne. They view those lamps to be references to the 7 Holy Spirits.

  3. Yes I remember. Some believe that these seven spirits refers to the seven angels regents of the planets, but it is impossible to know for sure, all we can do is speculate.